To content
Fakultät Physik

7th International Workshop on Rydberg Excitons in Semiconductors

1. - 2. July 2024 

© Julian Heckötter​/​TU Dortmund

Excitons – bound pairs of electrons and holes in a semiconducting material – can be produced in excited internal states by means of laser excitation. More than 60 years after their discovery in cuprous oxide semiconductors, the investigation of such Rydberg excitons is currently attracting increasing world-wide interest due to their vastly exaggerated properties. Just like for their atomic counterparts, the enhanced external-field sensitivity and strong mutual interactions of such Rydberg states makes them attractive systems for fundamental studies of basic quantum phenomena and suggests exciting opportunities for future applications, such as nonlinear optical interfaces.

The workshop will bring together international researchers to share latest results, to discuss current challenges, and to explore future perspectives and new opportunities in this growing and vibrant field of research.

© TU Dortmund


The scientific part of the conference will take place at the International Meeting Center , Emil-Figge-Straße 59, 44227 Dortmund, Germany.

How to reach the campus from Dortmund main station:
Take train S1 from platform 7 to Solingen.
Leave at “Dortmund University“ which is the 3rd stop. The ride is about 7 minutes.
This train goes every 15 minutes.

We will have lunch in the university canteen at the center of the campus.


© TU Dortmund

2nd July 2024, 6 p.m.


Hövels Hausbrauerei
Next to the Thier Galerie,
Hoher Wall 5-7, 44137 Dortmund
Phone: 0231 9145470

Take the train „S1“ from university to central station.
Walk from central station to Hövels:
Distance 750 m (ca. 11 min.)

Nearest underground station: Westentor

Go by car:
Parking in Dortmund:
Way to Hövels from underground car park „Rathaus“



Hadiseh Alaeian (Purdue) 

Valentin Walther (Purdue) 

Jörg Main (Stuttgart)

Thomas Boulier (Toulouse)

Harald Giessen (Stuttgart)

Sylwia Zielinska-Raczynska (Bydgoszcz)

Khabat Heshami (Ottawa)

Nobuko Naka (Kyoto)

Ruth Oulton (Bristol)

The workshop is open to all and is free of charge. To participate, please register by sending an email to rydex.e2.physiktu-dortmundde. In your email, include your first name, last name, affiliation, email address, and specify your intended contribution: poster presentation, talk, or attendance only. Please use this template for your abstract. The submission deadline is May 3rd, 2024.

Prof. Dr. Marc Aßmann

Email: marc.assmanntu-dortmundde

Phone: +49 (0)231 755-8818

TU Dortmund

  • Prof.  Marc Aßmann, Technische Universität Dortmund, Germany
  • Prof. Stefan Scheel, Universität Rostock, Germany
  • Prof. Matthew P.A. Jones, Durham University, UK
  • Prof. Thomas Pohl, Technische Universität Wien, Austria




Monday, 1.7.2024

09:00-10:15 Registration    
10:15-10:30 Welcome from the Organizers
10:30-11:00 Nobuko Naka Kyoto Rydberg Exciton States in Diamond
11:00-11:30 Kok Wee Song Exeter Blockade effects in dipolar exciton-polaritons
11:30-12:00 Khabat Heshami Ottawa Rydberg physics for quantum applications: excitons vs atoms
12:00-14:00 Lunch Break    
14:00-14:30 Valentin Walther Purdue Classical and Quantum Scattering with Rydberg Excitons
14:30-14:50 Binod Panda  Dortmund Time resolved measurement of Rydberg exciton dynamics
14:50-15:10 Changqing Zhu Dortmund Strong nonlinear terahertz responses of excitons in Cu2O
15:10-15:40 Thomas Boulier Toulouse Time-resolved second harmonic generation on Cu2O Rydberg excitons
15:40-16:10 Coffee Break    
16:10-16:40 Sylwia Zielińska-Raczyńska Bydgoszcz Rydberg excitons in Cu2O-based superlattices
16:40-17:00 Heinrich Stolz Rostock Rydberg Exciton Induced Chemical Reactions in Cu2O (zoom talk)
17:00-17:30 Pavel Belov Rostock Energy States of Rydberg Excitons in Cuprous Oxide Quantum
17:30-18:00 Jörg Main Stuttgart Recent results on cuprous oxide in the bulk and in quantum wells
18:00-21.30 Poster Session   Including food and drinks


Tuesday, 2.7.2024

09:00-09:10 Manfred Bayer Dortmund Welcome from the Rector of TU Dortmund
09:10-09:40 Hadiseh Alaeian Purdue Rydberg Photonics with Thin-Film Cuprous Oxide
09:40-10:00 David Ziemkiewicz Bydgoszcz Optical-to-microwave frequency conversion with Rydberg excitons
10:00-10:30 Rocio Sáez-Blázquez Vienna Vacuum Shifts in Cavity QED: Coupling Rydberg Excitons to Microwave Cavities
10:30-11:00 Coffee Break    
11:00-11:30 Yuki Haita Tokyo Hertzian stress-induced shifts of arbitrary exciton states in Cu2O
11:30-11:50 Jan Ertl Stuttgart Classical and semiclassical description of Rydberg excitons in cuprous oxide
11:50-12:10 Patric Rommel Stuttgart Gaussian-process-regression-based method for the localization of 
12:10-14:00 Lunch Break    
14:00-14:30 Scott Sayres Tempe Rydberg Excitons in Neutral Cuprite (Cu2O)n Clusters, n < 13 (zoom talk)
14:30-15:00 Doris Reiter Dortmund Two-color excitation for quantum systems
15:00-15:30 Ruth Oulton Bristol Quantum modulation of a coherent state with a single electron spin
15:30-16:00 Coffee Break    
16:00-16:30 Alistair Brewin Durham Computational Modelling of Cu2O at Durham University
16:30-17:00 Harald Gießen Stuttgart Rydberg excitons in the vicinity of plasmonic nanoantennas – modifying selection rules
18:00-21:00 Conference Dinner    



Patrick Egenlauf Stuttgart Application of machine learning to find exceptional points
Niklas Scheuler Stuttgart Resonance energies and linewidths of Rydberg excitons in Cu2O quantum wells

Mariam Harati

Dortmund Modifying Crystal Properties of Naturally Grown Cuprous Oxide through controlled heating
Eyüp Yalcin Dortmund Hanle Effect and Polarization Recovery on Resident Electrons in Single MoSe2 Layer
Simon Siegeroth Dortmund Intensity modulations of the probe transmission by pumping 1S-exciton
Morin Kerwan  Toulouse Toward one-photon excitation of S states with twisted light
Reuben Sorsbie St. Andrews Towards time-resolved photoluminescence spectroscopy of Rydberg excitons in Cu2O
Jan Kumlin Vienna Strongly Interacting Exciton-Polaritons in Moiré Quantum Materials
Leon Kühner Stuttgart

Wave functions and oscillator strengths in a two-band model for Rydberg excitons in cuprous oxide quantum wells

Nikita Siverin Dortmund Hyper-Raman effect on magnetic-field-coupled 1S excitons in Cu2O
Andreas Farenbruch Dortmund Excitation power and temperature dependent coherence time of magnetic-field-coupled 1S excitons in Cu2O
Liam Gallagher Durham Coupling Rydberg excitons to optical and microwave resonators
Horatio Wong Durham Microwave-optical conversion in Cu2O